Impermanent Loss

One of the factors in this trading system we fail to recognise or observe is this nasty impermanent loss which is still puzzling to the novice trader. There is talk of some platform protecting us from this but maybe we can make some kind of indicator - similar to the bluna and borrow indicator becoming liquidated which shows when the masset / UST pooling pair starts getting close to impermanent loss? Any warning system would keep traders confident to be aware of any unpleasant situations.

2 Likes

There will be some level of impermanent loss unless you pull out your assets at literally the exact price as when you entered your liquidity in. The greater the price difference between when you deposited, the greater your impermanent loss will be. Right now, the rewards for providing liquidity are so high that the IL created by the movement in price we see in stocks is very low.

3 Likes

First of all I want to say that I am new to lp-pools. I would like to share my strategy with you, to see if it is a decent strategy.

What I do is when I think that the price will go up (for instance TSLA) I will hold 100% TSLA. When I think the price will go down or sideways, than I Sell Half my TSLA to make a LP-pool.

With this strategy I also think that I don’t have much impermanent loss.
I hope this is a decent strategy :slight_smile:

1 Like

Well if you could see the future, you’d want to be 100% in TSLA when it goes up, 100% in UST when it goes down, and 100% in LPs when it goes sideways. So the success of your strategy will depend on how good you are at predicting when it will go up.

5 Likes

The difference between impermanent loss and getting liquidated on Anchor is risk.